Latest News

06 Dec 2023

Two COVID laws are set to sunset at the end of 2023—the COVID-19 notice requirement and the workers’ compensation presumption for workers, first responders, and health care personnel, along with the workers’ compensation notice requirements. Although the California COVID-19 notice requirement is ending, Cal/OSHA’s COVID-19 non-emergency regulations still mandate employers to promptly not...

05 Dec 2023

SB 497 Equal Pay and Anti-Retaliation Protection Act, effective January 1, 2024, reinforces existing laws that prohibit employers from discriminating or taking adverse actions against employees engaged in protected conduct. This includes activities such as filing complaints, participating in investigations, or exercising their rights under various labor laws. The Act increases penalties ...

04 Dec 2023

Beginning July 1, 2024, a new addition to the California Labor Code, Section 6401.9, mandates that almost all employers establish a Workplace Violence Prevention Plan (WVPP). The enforcement and implementation of Section 6401.9 fall under Cal/OSHA. The WVPP imposes several key obligations on employers: Designate a responsible individual for program implementation. Identify and rec...

03 Dec 2023

Beginning June 1, 2024, SB 525 establishes five new minimum wage schedules for certain health care employees, depending on the nature of the employer. Twenty types of facilities are covered, including hospitals, clinics, skilled nursing facilities, psychiatric and mental health facilities, home health agencies, residential care, and many more....

02 Dec 2023

The Fast Food Accountability and Standards Recovery Act establishes the Fast Food Council and raises the minimum wage for fast-food restaurant employees to $20 per hour, effective April 1, 2024. The Fast Food Council will assume responsibility for setting future minimum wages, working hours, and other working conditions for fast-food restaurant employees....

01 Dec 2023

On January 1, 2024, AB2188 will take effect, preventing employers from discriminating against an employee or applicant due to their off-the-job use of cannabis. Employers retain the ability to conduct pre-employment drug testing and reject a candidate based on a valid screening specifically targeting psychoactive cannabis metabolites. Certain exemptions exist, including federal contracto...

30 Nov 2023

Senate Bill 848 established a separate unpaid Bereavement Leave of up to 5 days that can be taken by an employee who suffers a reproductive loss event such as a miscarriage, stillbirth, unsuccessful assisted reproduction, failed surrogacy or failed adoption.  The leave must be taken within three months of the event. The maximum leave for reproductive loss is 20 days within a 12-month per...

28 Nov 2023

Starting January 1, 2024, California's Paid Sick Leave is increasing to five days or 40 hours. Employers can opt for the traditional accrual method—1 hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked—or choose alternative accrual methods. The key is to ensure that employees have accrued 5 days or 40 hours of paid sick leave by the 200th calendar day of their employment each year, calenda...

07 Sep 2023

Effective January 1, 2024, California’s minimum wage will increase from $15.50 per hour to $16.00 per hour for all employers regardless of size. This increase affects the minimum salary requirement for full-time exempt employees. The minimum salary requirement will increase from $64,480 per year ($5,373.34 per month) currently to $66,560 per year ($5,546.67 per month) January 1, 2024....

16 Aug 2023

A California Supreme Court decision in May 2022 made a significant change regarding meal and rest break penalties.  Prior to this decision, the additional hour of pay for missed and/or late meal and rest breaks was considered premium pay, not wages.  However, in Naranjo v. Spectrum Security Services, Inc., the Court not only ruled that premium pay for missed, late or short meal...